S.O.S.

It’s only been a couple of weeks into summer vacation. Gah, that feels like such a grade school thing to say. At this point, creatively, I don’t know what to do with myself. I want to write, I don’t want to write. Do I want to read? Well, after four months of nonstop reading for multiple classes, it’s kinda hard to jump back into reading at a leisurely pace. I noticed that I tend to jump between books. Currently, I’m reading Ben Fountain’s Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk and Jack London’s The Call of the Wild. I admire London’s writing, but definitely not his philosophy on childbearing. Remember I said that I feel the need to start drinking during the day? I’m gonna become a drunk if I continue in this wandering phase of summer!

But ya know what I do want to invest my time in? Starting a Chris Klein movie collection. Sweet, oblivious jock, please. Just kidding. I have been spending some time watching some 90’s and early 21st century teen movies. That should be America’s pastime. Again, just kidding.

The house hunting has taken a turn… for the worst? No, but we figured we should put it off for at least another six months. Next step: find a house to rent. We need a yard. And do you know what a backyard means? That means no longer having to walk my kid. I can just open the back door and let him run outside. Kinda like a dog. I can sit and enjoy a mimosa. Yeah right! I’ll sit outside and swat mosquitos half of the time, while the most enjoyable thing I do involves tanning for less than five minutes before I’m asked to blow bubbles from a slimy blue bottle. Speaking of tanning, I’m going to give in. I’m going to buy a floppy sun hat! I’m not one for trends, but I’ve been eyeing them for a while now.

I think I’ve run out of trivialities to ramble about. Existence is boring and frustrating right now. We’re housing my older cousin, who refuses to shower. I don’t even know if he brought a toothbrush. You don’t want to know how many arguments and silent treatments this has brought up between Mauricio and I. Oh, wanna know what I considered doing earlier? Picking up a pack of cigarettes! I haven’t done that since I was 18! What to do with myself? Pick up a drinking habit? Haha, this is all a joke, family. (But can someone please buy me a margarita?)

This is officially an S.O.S., now channeling Abba.tumblr_n41fzfizFd1qfin5no1_500

Leave a Reply

